Fish fry artI have a friend who I will refer to as the ultimate insider. He knows what’s happening in S.C. politics. Recently he invited me to join him at a fish fry, attended by politicians, some still in office, some retired, and a few people who are interested in politics.

It was a nice event. Some attendees fished in a pond on the event site. Others snacked on bullets and boiled peanuts along with cold liquid refreshments while waiting for our meal of fried fish.

It was a hot, humid afternoon. I must admit it has been a while since I’ve had to endure a South Carolina summer.  It was a treat to talk to the politicians. What struck me was the genuine friendship among the black and white individuals attending.

The meal was great!   Fried fish, salad, hush puppies, fries, catfish stew and cake. I passed on the catfish stew after eating a few boiled peanuts  – whew!

The fellowship continued through the evening. As people began to leave, they talked about meeting again next year. I found out that this event has been going on for a few years.  An invitation was extended to me, and I can’t wait until next years’ event.

